Admissions : M. Sc. Physics 2009

Please send any enquiries regarding admissions to admi (at)

The Department of Physics offers a 2 year (Four Semesters) M. Sc. Physics degree programme comprising of 15 common basic physics courses, three elective courses including one Laboratory course and a project equivalent to two courses. The following elective courses are offered in the second year of M. Sc. (Physics) – Materials Science, Physics of Thin Films, Condensed Matter Theory, Microwaves, Biophysics, Nuclear Techniques, Accelerator Physics, Laser Physics, Non-linear Dynamics, Astrophysics, Chemical Physics, and Nanotechnology. New elective courses such as Atmospheric Science, Space Science are likely to be introduced from this academic year 2009-2010.

ELIGIBILITY: B.Sc. degree in any of the following subjects or combination: - Physics, Electronics Science, Chemistry and Mathematics. In addition candidates with engineering degree B. E. /B. Tech. are also eligible. Those appearing for the final year of B. Sc. /B. E. /B. Tech. degree examination to be conducted before June 2009 may also apply.

ADMISSION: All the admissions are made through the ENTRANCE TEST. For the Pune University physics students, admission is made on the basis of 50 % weightage of the B.Sc. degree marks and 50 % weightage of the entrance test score. For other University students 100 % weightage is given to the Entrance Test score.

DETAILS OF THE ENTRANCE TEST: The Entrance Test is objective type and likely to be conducted in the following cities:- Pune, New Delhi, Kolkata, Bangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nasik, Sangli, Aurangabad and Ahmednagar. Nearest centre will be allotted to the candidate if the centre proposed by him/her is cancelled. Any kind of T. A.; D. A. will not be paid toward appearing for the Entrance Test or for any other purpose in this matter. Duly filled Entrance Test application form with the D. D. and a self addressed envelop (25 cm x 12 cm) be sent to the Head, Department of Physics, University of Pune, Pune – 411 007 so as to reach him on or before 23rd May 2009. The D. D. of Rs. 500/- applicable for open category students and all categories students from outside Maharashtra State and Rs. 350/- for Reserved Category of only Maharashtra State. The D. D. should be drawn in favour of ``Registrar, University of Pune, Pune -411 007''.


Thursday 4th June 2009

2.00 P.M. – 5.00 P.M. (Three hours)

RESERVATION QUOTA: The Reservation Quota is applicable only for the domiciles of the Maharashtra State, as per the existing rules of the University of Pune.

SCHOLARSHIPS: A few scholarships, each with limited amount, are available on the yearly basis and through selection process awarded to the deserving students.

For Further information and application procedure visit:
Head, Department of Physics, University of Pune, Pune – 411 007.
Phone: 020-25692678 (EXT 206, 201); 25601409, 25601410
Fax: (020) 25691684
admi (at)
hod (at)


Website designed & developed by Deepak Bankar. Last Modified : 26th Apr 2009.